89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE

Capriccio burlesco, for orchestra (1968)

Composition: 1968
First Performance: 7 December 1968. Philharmonic Hall, Lincoln Center, New York. New York Philharmonic Orchestra, André Kostelanetz conductor.
Duration: About 7 minutes
Dedication: To André Kostelanetz
Craggs Catalogue Number: C80
Instrumentation: 2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B-flat, clarinet in E-flat, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon – 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 percussion (small side drum, tenor drum, bass drum, cymbal, tambourine, xylophone, castanets, whip, block, bongos) – harp – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 598. Autograph full score. 43 pages. With six additional pages of full score, of earlier versions of certain sections.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Study score, 1969, 019 368117X. Score and parts are available on hire. [Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Study score]

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Sir Charles Groves 1969 EMI Classics 5 67222 2 7’17”
unknown André Kostelanetz 1969 Sony Classical 58931 6’53”
London Symphony Orchestra Sir William Walton 1970 Lyrita SRCD.224 7’25”
London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1991 Chandos CHAN 8968 7’29”
Florida Philharmonic Orchestra James Judd 1991 Harmonia Mundi 907070 7’16”