89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE

Finale for Variations on an Elizabethan Theme (Sellinger's Round), for string orchestra (1953)

• Composition: 1953. A composite work, with each movement written by a different composer. Walton contributed the finale.
First Performance: 20 June 1953. Parish Church of St. Peter and St. Paul, Aldeburgh. Aldeburgh Festival Orchestra, Benjamin Britten conductor.
Duration: Complete work: About 16 minutes - Walton’s finale: About 3 minutes
Theme by William Byrd, transcribed by Imogen Holst
Variation 1 - Allegro non troppo by Arthur Oldham
Variation 2 - A Lament. Andante espressivo by Sir Michael Tippett
Variation 3 - Andante by Sir Lennox Berkeley
Variation 4 - Quick and gay by Benjamin Britten
Variation 5 - Nocturne. Adagio by Humphrey Searle
Variation 6 - Presto giocoso by Sir William Walton
Craggs Catalogue Number: C61
Instrumentation: String orchestra
Manuscript: James Marshall and Marie-Louise Osborn Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Osborn Music Manuscript MS.502. Autograph manuscript of all seven sections.
Publication: Boosey and Hawkes. 1953. Score and parts are available on hire.

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Guidhall String Ensemble Robert Salter director 1988 RCA Victor RD87846 15’53”
BBC Symphony Orchestra Jac van Steen 1999 NMC D062 16’21”