89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE

Improvisations on an Impromptu of Benjamin Britten, for orchestra (1969)

• Composition: August through November 1969
First Performance: 14 January 1970. War Memorial Opera House, San Francisco. San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Josef Krips conductor.
Duration: About 16 minutes
Theme. Lento —     
Improvisation I —     
Improvisation II. Vivo —     
Improvisation III. Pocchissimo meno mosso —     
Improvisation IV. Moderato —     
Improvisation V. Scherzando     
Dedication: To the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, Josef Krips, Conductor and Music Director, in memory of Adeline Smith Dorfman
Craggs Catalogue Number: C82
Instrumentation: 3 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, bassoon, contrabassoon – 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 percussion (glockenspiel, xylophone, bells, cymbals, suspended cymbal, bass drum, tambourine, 3 bongos, snare drum, side drum) – harp – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 622. Autograph full score. 58 pages.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Study score, 1970, 019 3682443. Score and parts are available on hire. [Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Study score]

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
London Symphony Orchestra André Previn 1972 EMI Classics 7 64723 2 16’09”
London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1991 Chandos CHAN 8959 15’17”