89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE

Prologo e fantasia, for orchestra (1981–2)

• Composition: 1981–2. This was Walton’s last major work.
First Performance: 20 February 1982. Royal Festival Hall, London. National Symphony Orchestra (of Washington, D.C.), Mstislav Rostropovich conductor.
Duration: About 6 minutes
Tempi: Prologo Lento maestoso — Fantasia Allegro molto — Fuga finta    Sempre allegro molto
Craggs Catalogue Number: C100
Instrumentation: 3 flutes (third doubling piccolo), 3 oboes (third doubling cor anglais), 3 clarinets (third doubling bass clarinet), 3 bassoons (third doubling contrabassoon) – 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 percussion (side drum, bass drum, cymbals, xylophone) – harp – piano – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 610. Manuscript full score. Partly full score, partly draft, with a few photocopied pages in a copyist’s hand. 47 pages.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Study score, 1984, 019 3683539. Score and parts are available on hire. [Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Study score]
• Recordings:

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1991 Chandos CHAN 8968 6’36”