89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE

Varii capricci, for orchestra (1975–7)

• General Information:
I.   Allegro assai     
II.  Lento sognando     
III. Alla Cubana     
IV. Lento     
V.  Presto con slancio     
Composition: 1975–6, based on the Five Bagatelles for Guitar. The last movement was rewritten in 1977.
First Performance: 4 May 1976. Royal Festival Hall, London. London Symphony Orchestra, André Previn conductor.
Duration: About 14 minutes
Craggs Catalogue Number:  C86a
Instrumentation: 3 flutes (third doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, cor anglais, 3 clarinets, 3 bassoons – 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 percussion (xylophone, cymbals, bass drum, side drum, tambourine, glockenspiel, claves, bongos, gong) – celesta – harp – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 613.
FRKF 613a – Autograph full score of original version. 43 pages.
FRKF 613b – Autograph full score of the revised last movement. 11 pages.
FRKF 613c – Autograph score of a coda written for Sir Frederick Ashton’s ballet (see below). 1 leaf.  This sheet contains the last music Walton wrote before his death.
Publication: Oxford University Press, 1978. Score and parts are available on hire. Materials available for purchase:

Varii capricci 1978 Study score ISBN 019 3684535 Buy from SheetMusicPlus.com

Arrangements: Five Bagatelles for Guitar and Orchestra, arranged by Patrick Russ (1992)
This arrangement incorporates elements of Varii capricci together with the original Five Bagatelles for Guitar.
Adaptations: The music for Varii capricci formed the basis of the following ballet:
Varii capricci. Choreography by Sir Frederick Ashton. First Performance: 19 April 1983. Metropolitan Opera House, New York. Ashley Lawrence conductor. David Hockney scenery. Ossie Clark costumes. John B. Read lighting. Cast included Antoinette Sibley, La Capricciosa; Anthony Dowell, Lo Straniero.


Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
London Philharmonic Orchestra Bryden Thomson 1990 Chandos CHAN 8862 14’49”

For additional recordings of this music, see the following arrangement: Five Bagatelles for Guitar and Orchestra, arranged by Patrick Russ (1992)