89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra (1955–6)

Composition: 1955–6. Revised the ending at Piatigorsky’s request, in 1975. This version remains unperformed, and the original version is generally considered to be preferable.
First Performance: 25 January 1957. Symphony Hall, Boston. Gregor Piatigorsky cello, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Charles Munch conductor.
Duration: About 29 minutes

I. Moderato  
II. Allegro appassionato  
III. Theme. Lento —  
  Variation 1. Con moto —  
  Variation 2. Risoluto tempo giusto — Brioso —  
  Variation 3. Allegro molto —  
  Variation 4. Rapsodicamente —  
  Variation 5 —  
  Variation 6. Adagio  

Dedication: To Gregor Piatigorsky
Craggs Catalogue Number: C65
Instrumentation: Cello solo, 2 flutes (second doubling piccolo), 2 oboes (second doubling cor anglais), 2 clarinets (second doubling bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (second doubling contrabassoon) – 4 horns, 2 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 percussion (vibraphone, xylophone, suspended cymbal, bass drum) – celesta – harp – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 627. Autograph manuscript short score of the second and third movements. Also two pages of full orchestral score. 47 pages.
Private collection of Mrs. Daniel B. Dorfman, daughter of Gregor Piatigorsky. Autograph manuscript of the following: full score, short score of the first movement, sketches, correction sheet, solo part, and score of the revised 1975 ending. Full score is dated ‘Forio d’Ischia, Feb.-Oct. 1956’.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Full score, 1957, 019 368120X. Piano/cello score, with cello part, piano reduction by Roy Douglas, 1957, 019 3681218. [Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Piano/cello score]
Arrangements: Arranged for cello and piano, by Roy Douglas.Publication: Oxford University Press, 1957, 019 3681218. [Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Piano/cello score]

Soloist Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Gregor Piatigorsky Boston Symphony Orchestra Charles Munch 1957 BMG 92575 2 29’23”
Pierre Fournier Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Sir William Walton 1959 BBC Legends 4098-2 24’03”
Paul Tortelier London Philharmonic Orchestra Sir Adrian Boult 1967 Suisa INCD 7281 25’44”
Paul Tortelier Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Paavo Berglund 1973 EMI Classics 5 73371 2 26’50”
Ralph Kirshbaum Scottish National Orchestra Sir Alexander Gibson 1979 Chandos CHAN 6547 32’50”
Yo-Yo Ma London Symphony Orchestra André Previn 1985 CBS Masterworks 39541 30’01”
Raphael Wallfisch London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1991 Chandos CHAN 8959 30’05”
Lynn Harrell City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra Sir Simon Rattle 1991 EMI Classics 7 54572 2 29’43”
Janos Starker Philharmonia Orchestra Leonard Slatkin 1992 RCA Victor 09026-61695-2 27’09”
Robert Cohen Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Andrew Litton 1993 London 443 450-2 28’36”
Julian Lloyd Webber Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields Sir Neville Marriner 1996 Philips 454 442-2 29’44”
Tim Hugh English Northern Philharmonia Paul Daniel 1997 Naxos 8..554325 30’31”
Mark Kosower Oregon Symphony James DePreist 2005 Delos DE 3342 32’45”
Daniel Müller-Schott Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra André Previn 2005 Orfeo C621 061A 29’57”