89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

Scapino A Comedy Overture, for orchestra (1940/49)

• Composition: Begun ca. July 1940, and completed by late December. Revised extensively, autumn 1949.
First Performance: 3 April 1941. Orchestra Hall, Chicago. Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Frederick Stock conductor.
Duration: About 8 minutes
Tempi: Molto vivace – Scherzevole  [317 m.]
Craggs Catalogue Number: C40
Instrumentation: 3 flutes (second and third doubling piccolos), 2 oboes, cor anglais, 3 clarinets in B-flat (third doubling bass clarinet in B-flat), 2 bassoons – 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in B-flat, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 3 or 4 percussion (tambourine, cymbals, xylophone, snare drum, bass drum, glockenspiel, Chinese temple blocks, castanets, triangle) – harp – strings
Instrumentation of Original Version: 2 flutes, piccolo, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in B-flat, bass clarinet in B-flat, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon – 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B-flat, 2 cornets in B-flat, 3 trombones, tuba – timpani, 4 percussion (side drum, bass drum, cymbals, triangle, tambourine, xylophone, glockenspiel, Chinese temple blocks, slapsticks, castanets) – harp – strings
Manuscript: Rosenthal Archives of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Manuscript 8876. Autograph full score in pencil, though later inked in, including performance markings by Frederick Stock. There is also a photocopy of this score, apparently made before the original was inked in.
Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 625. Autograph full score, incomplete. Missing pages 20-25 and several pages from the end. This is a fair copy of the Chicago manuscript above, copied by Walton himself. 29 pages.
Oxford University Press. Study score, 1950, 019 368361X. Full score, 1951
Oxford University Press. Edited by David Lloyd-Jones. William Walton Edition, Volume 14, “Overtures”, 2002, 019 3683148. Score and parts are available on hire.

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Chicago Symphony Orchestra Frederick Stock 1940 LYS 042/043 9’21”
Philharmonia Orchestra Sir William Walton 1951 EMI Classics 7 63381 2 7’40”
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Sir Charles Groves 1969 EMI Classics 5 67222 2 8’11”
London Symphony Orchestra Sir William Walton 1971 Lyrita SRCD.224 8’43”
London Symphony Orchestra André Previn 1973 EMI Classics 7 64623 2
EMI Classics 5 73372 2
London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1991 Chandos CHAN 8968 8’42”
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Andrew Litton 1994 London 444 114-2 8’05”