89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

Siesta, for small orchestra (1926)

• Composition: 1926. Minor revisions were made in 1962.
First Performance: 24 November 1926. Aeolian Hall, London. Aeolian Chamber Orchestra, Sir William Walton [or possibly Guy Warrack] conductor.
Duration: About 5 minutes
Dedication: The original version is dedicated to Stephen Tennant, though this dedication was removed in the 1962 revision.
Craggs Catalogue Number: C19
Instrumentation: Flute (doubling piccolo), oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon – 2 horns – strings
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 1428. First and second proofs of orchestral parts, with annotations by Walton in blue and red crayon, and red ink. The location of the autograph manuscript score is unknown.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Full score, 1929 (discontinued). Study score, 1963, 019 3684004. Score and parts are available on hire.
[Purchase online from SheetMusicPlus.com: Study score]
Arranged for piano duet, by the composer. Publication: Oxford University Press, 1928. (discontinued).
Arranged for two pianos, by Sir Richard Rodney Bennett First Performance: 1 December 1977. Wigmore Hall, London. Susan Bradshaw and Sir Richard Rodney Bennett pianos. This version remains unpublished.
Adaptations: The music from Siesta formed the basis of the following ballets:
Ballet — a Pas de deux. Choreography by Sir Frederick Ashton. First Performance: 24 January 1936. Sadler’s Wells Theatre, London. Vic-Wells Ballet. Sadler’s Wells Orchestra, Sir William Walton conductor. Pearl Argyle, Robert Helpmannprincipals. Matilda Etches designer.
Ballet — a new Pas de deux. Choreography by Sir Frederick Ashton. First Performance: 28 July 1972. The Maltings, Snape, Suffolk. English Opera Group Orchestra, David Taylor conductor. Vyvyan Lorrayne, Barry McGrath principals. Aldeburgh Festival.

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
London Philharmonic Orchestra Sir William Walton 1938 EMI Classics 63381 4’40”
London Philharmonic Orchestra Sir William Walton 1970 Lyrita SRCD.224 5’42”
London Philharmonic Orchestra Sir Charles Mackerras 1989 EMI Classics 75569 5’08”
London Philharmonic Bryden Thomson 1990 Chandos CHAN 9148 5’54”
English Northern Philharmonia David Lloyd-Jones 2001 Naxos 8.555868 5’06”