89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

Sonata for String Orchestra (1971)

• Composition: 1971. Arranged from the String Quartet No. 2. The transcription of the final movement was done by Sir Malcolm Arnold, under the composer’s supervision. Several changes were made in late 1973, in preparation for publication.
First Performance: 2 March 1972. Octagon Theatre, Perth. Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Sir Neville Marriner conductor.
Duration: About 27 minutes
Movements: I. Allegro - II. Presto - III. Lento - IV. Allegro molto     
Craggs Catalogue Number: C53a
Instrumentation: String orchestra
A note in the score reads: “The work should be played by not less than players, but if necessary lower strongs may be reduced to 2 violas, 2 cellos, and 2 double basses (where the double bass part is divided into three, the third part may be omitted).”
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 606b. Autograph full score. The fourth movement is in the hand of Sir Malcolm Arnold. 67 pages.
Publication: Oxford University Press. Study score, 1973, 019 3684276. Parts on sale: violin I 019 3684284, violin II 019 3684292, viola 01 3684306, cello 019 3684314, doublebass 019 3684322  Score and parts are also available on hire.

Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Guildhall String Ensemble Robert Salter director 1988 RCA Victor RD 87846 26’30”
City of London Sinfonia Richard Hickox 1991 EMI Classics CDC 7 54407 2 26’53”
London Philharmonic Jan Latham-Koenig 1992 Chandos CHAN 9106 28’59”