89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

Passacaglia, for cello solo (1979–80)

• Composition: 1979–80
• First Performance: Tuesday, 16 March 1982. Royal Festival Hall, London. Mstislav Rostropovich cello.
Duration: About 6 minutes
Dedication: For Mstislav Rostropovich
Craggs Catalogue Number: C98
Instrumentation: Cello solo
Manuscript: Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 611. Autograph score. 6 pages.
Publication: Oxford University Press, 1982. Materials available for purchase:

Passacaglia for Cello Solo 1982 Score ISBN 019 3594110



Cellist Year Compact Disc Timing
Raphael Wallfisch 1986 Chandos CHAN 8959 5’20”
Julian Lloyd Webber 1993 ASV Living Era 592  
Paul Watkins 2002 Hyperion CDA67340 6’14”