89, Judd Street | London - UK | WC1H 9NE



I am delighted to introduce to you the website of William Walton Trust. As international appreciation continues to grow for one of the great men of British music we hope that this site will prove interesting and informative both to those who are looking for general information and to those seeking specialist help.

Read more


The William Walton Trust and the Fondazione William Walton e La Mortella have the following general objectives:

Read more

You do not know Giardini la Mortella?

Visit the site of the spectacular subtropical and mediterranean garden developed since 1956 by the late Susana Walton.

Giardini la Mortella

The Bear", extravaganza in one act (1965–7)

• Composition: 1965–7
First Performance: 3 June 1967. Jubilee Hall, Aldeburgh. Monica Sinclair, Popova; John Shaw, Smirnov; Norman Lumsden, Luka. English Chamber Orchestra, James Lockhart conductor.
Duration: About 48 minutes
Libretto: By Paul Dehn (1912–76), adapted from Anton Chekhov (1860–1904)
Dedication: “Dedicated to the memory of Serge and Natalie Koussevitzky”
Craggs Catalogue Number: C79
Performing Forces:
Yelina Ivanovna Popova, a widow - mezzo-soprano
Grigory Stephanovich Smirnov, a landowner - baritone
Luka, servant to Popova - bass
2 walk-on speaking roles, both men
Orchestral Instrumentation: Flute (doubling piccolo), oboe (doubling English horn), clarinet (doubling bass clarinet), bassoon – horn, trumpet, trombone – timpani, 2 percussion (side drum, tenor drum, bass drum, cassa chiara, triangle, tambourine, cymbals, suspended cymbal, gong, jingles, 3 blocks, woodblock, whip, rattle, xylophone, vibraphone, tubular bells in F-sharp and C, crotales, bongos) – harp – piano – string quintet ( or string orchestra
Manuscript: Serge Koussevitzky Foundation Collection. Library of Congress, Washington D.C. Full score. Dated ‘30.4.67, Forio d’Ischia’. Also 11 pages of revisions in full score.
Frederick R. Koch Collection. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University. Manuscript FRKF 604. Autograph sketches. 37 pages.
Publication: Oxford University Press, 1968. Score and parts are available on hire. Material available for purchase:

The Bear
1977 Study score ISBN 019 338440X Buy from SheetMusicPlus.com
1968 Vocal score, with
Piano reduction by Roy Douglas
ISBN 019 3384418  
1967 Libretto ISBN 019 3384426 Buy from SheetMusicPlus.com
William Walton Edition, Vol. 2,
ed. Stuart Hutchinson
  Critical edition (full score) ISBN 019 3384434  



Solo Voices Orchestra Conductor Year Compact Disc Timing
Monica Sinclair, Popova
John Shaw, Smirnov
Norman Lumsden, Luka
English Chamber Orchestra James Lockhart 1967 EMI Classics 5 73998 2 48’44”
Della Jones, Popova
Alan Opie, Smirnov
John Shirley-Quirk, Luka
Northern Sinfonia Richard Hickox 1993 Chandos CHAN 9245 53’18”